Start with the cell phone and learn to tell a good story, mabey with puppets.

My youngest and I are convinced that if the world is plummeted into the dark ages that we will keep world history alive via oral tradition in story telling and puppetry.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alwaysjan
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 13:55:36

    I just watched all of the clips with my husband (who admitted he bought the “V for Vendetta” DVD just this week. We’ll watch it tonight. (He’s seen it 3 times already.) I thought the most interesting comment from Alan Moore was, “As with most future worlds in science fiction, you’re not talking about the future, you’re talking about the present.” How true.

    When I first got out of college, I worked for a puppeteer. It never ceased to amaze me how people’s personalities could totally change when they had a puppet on their hand. The puppet could say things that would never in a million years have come out of their mouth, but it gave them the freedom to say what they were thinking.

    Reply

  2. lilikaofthelake
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 15:01:57

    Oh Fun movie night Jan. We are going to watch City of Ember. I love love love V – I think it is one of the best movies with amazing production value. I believe that Orwell, Vonnegut, Mary Shelley and Mr. Moore all reflect most brilliantly what is just under the surface. That dark beast that would eat us all if we let it.

    I think Puppets are amazing (and fun) – Waldorf teachers use them in Storytelling all the time. Much as you can act and be someone else, the children seem to listen and understand on a different level than if you were just telling them a story.

    Its all about the props. Have a lovely weekend!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

