Monday inspirations for the week ~ Thanks to Theodor and Elizabeth

To get you started for the week a little pep talk:

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

And speaking of Genius – Happy Birthday to Dr. Seuss – for me he has been a great inspiration.

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”   Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

theolorax

Seuss Websites
There are a lot of websites devoted to Dr. Seuss and his books,  worth checking out.
  http://www.seuss.org/
    http://www.seussville.com/    

A fav. movie site:

http://moviemorlocks.com/2008/12/11/remembering-tommy-rettig/

drseussaseussb

I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, It’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do, And that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.

“I speak for the trees, for the trees have no tongues”  Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alwaysjan
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 22:06:20

    My husband shares a birthday with Dr. Seuss so he was feeling a bit overlooked yesterday. I read my class “Horton Hatches the Egg” and we wrote in cursive, “I meant what said, and I said what a meant, an elephant’s faithful, one hundred percent.”

    Did you know that someone challenged Dr. Seuss to write a book for children with 50 words or less? The result was “Green Eggs and Ham.” I read to my class about his childhood. It was because he was taunted for being German that he developed such a strong sense of social justice. Thanks so much for the lovely nod to a man who elevated wordplay to an art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

