Intelligent design and the Fur will Fly….

In my Inbox – adrabbit

When PETA and caring members helped convince Donna Karan to permanently remove fur from her collection, thousands of rabbits were saved from being confined in tiny cages and stripped of their skin—sometimes while still alive.

With your help, we can expand the fight against fur and save many more animals’ lives. Please support PETA’s efforts to stop this slaughter.

A recent investigation of rabbit fur farms in China and France revealed that rabbits spend their entire miserable lives in tiny wire cages in their own waste. These gentle animals never get to run, jump, dig, or play. Their slaughter is grotesquely cruel: The rabbits kick and scream before the skin is ripped off their bodies to be sold to some of the world’s top designers and retailers.

For more than a year, PETA pressured Donna Karan to switch from fur to fashionable materials that don’t harm any animals. We finally achieved a breakthrough just days after we launched a new parody Web site targeting Karan and after getting fashion icon and Project Runway star Tim Gunn to send her (and designer Giorgio Armani) an exposé narrating the gruesome undercover fur-farm video footage. It paid off! Now Karan has announced that her fall 2009 lines will be fur-free and that she has “no plans” to use fur in the future.

Major victories for animals couldn’t happen without caring supporters like you. Fighting the fur industry takes real resources. And by donating generously to PETA today, you can make sure that we can continue to fight as hard as possible to save many more animals from being butchered for their pelts.

Your gift will enable us to shine the public light of scrutiny on designers and companies that buy and sell fur, including Giorgio Armani, who is using rabbit fur in his new designs. We must push Armani to join Donna Karan, Tommy Hilfiger, Liz Claiborne Inc., Polo Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, J.Crew, and many other designers and companies that we have compelled to stop killing animals for fur.

Please make as generous an online donation as you possibly can to PETA today to help get fur—and the suffering it causes—off people’s backs and store racks. Thank you for all that you do to help animals and to help us stop cruelty.

Kind regards,

Ingrid E. Newkirk
President

P.S. Now that PETA has persuaded Donna Karan and many other companies to get out of the fur business, we are putting the pressure on holdouts like Giorgio Armani. We won’t stop as long as any animals are still caged and killed for their skin. But we simply cannot continue this fight without committed supporters like you who will not sit by while animals suffer. Please make a tax-deductible donation today to help save lives.

rabbit_rider_2a
I personally cannot give money to all the organizations that I would like – every time they ask and Peta asks me weekly. What I can do is spread some education and give my support and energy. And while Peta is an amazing organization – I feel a bit badgered to donate $ to them all the time. But persistence is the hallmark of a good charity organization and is why they ask. I did give them my email and I do support them. I get as much from WWF. I think that like so many we are getting “donor exhaustion” with the economy sliding down its muddy hill towards the next house that will be demolished.
I think that many of us want alternatives to action other than sending a check. Crafts and Art and donating things you do no longer need are a good way to go. Let me know if you have any others.


This last week was all about Australia and the horrific Fires – The Lynus Project and Food Pantries. I used to be so involved with Animal Rights and participated in Protests at Southwest Research and rescued animals with Man and Beast – Saved the Whales and still protest against the blanket use of pesticides on a neighborhood level hopefully saving some bees.


When I had my first child I started getting involved with children’s organizations and Feed the Children, education and relief for families in need and now I find that I am full circle back into animal rights. So I split the difference figuring that one thing will lead to another. Make the world better for all living things and the world will get better. If we eat meat I try to buy free-range and organic. I prefer fish and chicken and the sacred Turkey. We save money not eating or buying meat though no one in my family would touch Soy with a ten foot fishing pole.
I do have Fur – Vintage fur that I feel to throw away would be a double waste. I keep them in a cedar chest to show the kids and have a picture of the animal with them. It’s my own little Natural History museum. I have animal skulls from walks and Antique shows too.


I do not wear a Fur coat. I can see the attraction they are very warm. If I were in Finland and wearing one of my Reindeer that died I could relate to that.
There is fur on some of our families Native American magical tools – passed down through generations with the story of how the animal was killed or died. The honoring of the animals spirit and the presence of the animal held sacred in rituals. I grew up with my grandmother saying “never wear mink – their meat is not eaten and it stinks, never kill an animal for fashion”. I love the feel of wolf and bear and otter. I would not want to think they were kept in cages for a human’s vanity. I would much rather think of them with their families running free and safe (at least from humans) There are many people who believe it is the natural order for humans to kill animals and wear them as trophies and if you kill it in the wild skin it and fashion it into something to wear for you or yours well….we can talk. If you are going to a store and picking one up to make yourself feel snappy then you are making a choice that may not have the best “vibrational energy” attached to it and surely Karma will come calling.
We have too many factory farms that pollute the land and feed livestock more food than some people in third world countries get to feed their families. Factory farming pollutes ground water and promotes an industry of cruelty.


As the leading predators on the planet we have a responsibility to conduct ourselves in a manner in which the Earth will have balance and not need to “make adjustments” in order for the Trees to breathe and the animals to sing. I see no other animals except for Red Ants – that so thoroughly destroy everything in their path. We are becoming Toxic – to the planet and ourselves. If you are a huge fan of fur I am not judging you. I think that would not be proper. I would ask you to think – to buy responsibly and buy a fur that is Vintage and have it remade or to just think long and hard about the choices you make and why you make them. I myself am trying this year to make better choices and to share that we do have a choice and a voice and that if we all were to re-think what is chic and delicious, we would all have a better chance in this world for survival.
Most people I know do not buy designer garb but I like this website none-the-less
http://www.nycanimalrights.com/Designers%20That%20Use%20Fur.htm
I have definite thoughts as to what is “Luxury” http://www.ecorazzi.com/2009/01/26/celebrity-fashion-designer-jason-wu-plans-significant-fur-collection/ and it does not jive with the fashionistas looking to make a buck on the backs of suffering animals.
I love Ingrid (Pres. Of Peta) for making me think. But I want more education and less asking for money.
My next soapbox presentation will be in Powerpoint and about the overfishing the oceans and saving the Whales. See you next week.furdraged

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Qupid
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 02:38:21

    PETA is such an interesting organization. They have the best intentions, but they can be so untactful. I’m just thankful for their consistent pestering of the world’s leading advocates of animal abuse.

    The problem has always been the detachment between comfortable city life and the horror of the pens, cages and slaughterhouses. People have a very difficult time making the connection between what are just “food objects” to them and the writhing, screaming, helpless animals that get beaten, boiled or chopped to death daily. Still, once they’ve viewed a video such as “Earthlings”, there is no reason for them not to realize what they’ve been doing. And yet, the typical reasoning persists: “But they taste so good, it would be hard for me to stop.” Oh, how inconsiderate of me–how could I overlook the importance of how your food tastes? And here I was, thinking that sparing animals from excruciating torture actually mattered. Better a cow is hung upside down with its throat slit while it slowly bleeds to death than you suffer the pain of adjusting your diet, right?

    I don’t think that humans are predators at all, naturally. We don’t have the claws or fangs necessary, nor the inherent strength to defeat anything that isn’t small or defenseless. Many of us couldn’t even bring ourselves to kill anything larger than a bug. And have you seen footage of slaughterhouse workers? Those people get seriously messed up in the head… humans are just not suited for killing. Of course, if there’s one thing about our species as of this age, it’s that we typically have complete disregard for our psychological health. That’s why we have beer, cigarettes, and other “recreational drugs”, to take the sting off of doing so many screwed up things. And therapists.

    Great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

