The great Audubon Backyard Bird Count Feb13-16th !!

http://www.birdsource.org/gbbc/

cardinalmylove

Today starts the annual winter bird count in North America – if you have never done this – it is wonderful and fun. If you have kids – you will not want to miss this chance to participate in a live counting of birds by backyard birders. Go to the above link for more information. I am sorry I did not post this sooner. I have been a bit wonky lately, Fires, floods, tornadoes, people loosing their jobs. I feel like I want to just hide out with the nuns and pray all day for the world to be saved. Instead it has been massive Valentines work for the grades and kids. Valentines was always such a sweet holiday and now it seems like a competion. Mabey I just never noticed it before.

Anyway, get out there in Nature this weekend and count some birds – print your certificate and have joy in the fact that we still have Chickadees and Cardinals and Owls and Hawks.

What is your favorite bird? Be sure to enter the photo contest!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alwaysjan
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 15:08:04

    Thanks so much for this link. I checked it out and there are lots of activities and information for kids. It’ll have to wait until next year though as we have a 4-day weekend and I’m off to spend a rainy weekend visiting my parents (who migrated to California for two months to escape the snow). I have definite bird nerd potential and my class just finished our Urban Wildlife unit.
    Be careful when you’re out there counting that you’re not picked up by a tornado or washed away. 🙂 You can count the birds and your blessings!

    Reply

  2. Catherine Sherman
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 12:01:37

    I’m sorry I didn’t participate officially. I’ve really gotten into birds lately and have been taking lots of photos. Thanks for the mention of the photo contest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

