Being gracious at all times…

Bran reminded me of something I ment to do this year. Which is being more gracious at all times. Easy to say – hard to do. It will get you far if you can master the gracious nature.

My dear husband game me a nice edition of the Zombie Survival Guide last year for my birthday. What I really always want is flowers and candy. I am well known for believing in Zombies and the living dead so he thought it was a cute, quarky gift. I thought it was … frankly a bit odd. Also my friends and I read this book when it came out a few years ago in our reading group and he did not seem to remember. Strike two. I was not gracious and really what would it have hurt to just love that he acknowledged my birthday and took the time to find a thoughtful gift.

Not amused.

I found it a bit to easy, walk into the Barnes and Noble, stumble around glassy eyed and pick up a zombie book. See, not being gracious already.

Actually upon thinking about it. Forget  being gracious. I have to put up with Crazy and I mean Crazy neurotic Girl Scout moms and very strange uber religious types all the time and my graciousness quota is growing thin. I need to save it for my kids and their teachers. My nana and aunties, the switch to DTV, the loss of Saturns rings and Masterpiece Theater, which made me cry and cry tonight watching http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/masterpiece/  Tess of the d’Urbervilles.

So gracious most of the time it is. Certainly up for teaching Zombies some manners.

attea

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HorrorFatale
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 17:51:25

    See, look at is as attempting to think hard about something you will really like. Having said that I am never gracious and it is definitely something I need to really work on also this year.

    Reply

  2. Catherine Sherman
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 19:13:11

    Gracious is hard, sometimes. I try to count to ten and see whether I still feel pissed off or disappointed before I say anything.

    I cried over Tess, too, even though I had read the book long ago and knew it was a tear-jerker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

