World Aids Day

A hard day to think about for me. A great many of the people I went to school with and grew up with are dead from this horrific disease that keeps mutating and spreading and is still a very real threat to children and women and families. It was a disease of gay men when I was at Uni and I have so many stories I could tell. Mabey later – it is hard to think of those talented, innocent people who died from not knowing. A whole generation of talented artists missing. Women are the largest still growing population getting Aids and there needs to be a cure – but there needs to be education and protection first and formost.
Charity Navigator is a great place to find information and sites who are really making a difference.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bran
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 21:18:27

    I am paranoid when it comes to HIV/AIDS; not because of any prejudice toward a victim, but toward a vague THEM who infiltrated this disease into our world in response to the sexual revolution, and the gay rights movement. In the deepest part of me, I really believe that we wouldn’t have AIDS if one hateful group of Bible-thumping bigots hadn’t engineered ways to disseminate the disease. Get rid of gays, get rid of people who believe in free love, get rid of anyone who can enjoy themselves in a way your religion says you can’t. AIDS is criminal warfare. It’s just like you said, so many innocent people died, (I believe) because of the extreme beliefs of a few.

    HIV/AIDS is a horrible way to go. My Mom’s friend Tony died this way. He was such an intensely feeling, artistic, sensitive person. We have lost him. We’ve lost a lot of people who had so much to contribute.

    Reply

  2. bran
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 21:20:18

    …and people who were loved by others, who left holes in the lives of their partners, friends, and families. I didn’t mean to say in my previous post that a person is only missed if they have something to contribute. I should have given it a minute before I hit GO.

    It’s just so sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

