Environmental factors may trigger type 2 Diabetes

I have been wondering a lot about Diabetes since being diagnosed two weeks ago with type 2. Meat – Fungus – being too fat, genetic predisposition American Indians are very prone to type 2. What could be the cause?

A new analysis of government data is the first to link low-level arsenic exposure, possibly from drinking water, with Type 2 diabetes, researchers say.  read the story here :

http://www.diabetes.org/diabetesnewsarticle.jsp?storyId=18263492&filename=20080820/ap20080820aponlineallD92LQM800newsaporganpaewEDIT.xml

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bran
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 05:22:41

    you’ve been diagnosed? i’m sorry to hear that. has it been difficult to adjust to taking insulin?

    Reply

  2. lilikaofthelake
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 15:29:53

    Thanks Bran. I do not at this time have to take the oral meds or the insulin. I am on a strict no sugar low carbs diet and if that stabilizes it then I will be able to stay in the srict diet and loose weight mode. I have another blood test on the 16th and will see whats up. Diabetes is rampant and on the rise in all sectors of our communities. I really think for me it has been poor food choices and to much processed food. Ten years ago I was a total vegan and since the birth of my two youngest – which were huge 10-12 lb babies I have not excersized or taken health seriously. Always thought I would just swing back into shape…..Nope. You do have to work at it as you get older and food companies are sly. Excersize is so important and I just hate it, but am learning to do it anyway thanks to Wii.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

