Nation of Whiners

Yes I believe I fit into this description by former Sen. Phil Gramm, R-Texas, economic adviser to McCain. I have used my internet diary so far to moan and bitch about more than a few things and I am not alone in this. Lots of mom’s have “bitch blogs” and frankly we have alot to bitch about. My gratitude journal is not read by random robot spiders and other dear mommies though sometimes the magic and laws of attraction spill over onto the computer and happy bubbly thoughts spring forth. I think I will keep the Gratitude and Crafts separate but equal.  It’s really semantics, one mans whiny is anothers bitchy and anothers “tell it like it is”.   That being said – I was reminded by a witch friend and a true “feminist” that we do not want to be above men or thought better than men. Yes yes I know – I do want it truly equal  I believe that it is possible and will happen in my lifetime. So here is what I am reading – between my bitching and whinning.

 

I liked this review so picked it up –

“This latest offering from best-selling author Wolf, The Beauty Myth, is a harbinger of an age that may finally see the patriarchal realm of political discourse usurped. Here is Wolf’s compellingly and cogently argued political argument for civil rights, not women’s rights. She contributes this call to action to a canon that from Plato and Aristotle to Hobbes and Locke and forward, with a few exceptions (e.g., Hannah Arendt), has been largely populated by men. Wolf’s work is actually closer to the agitated, passionate polemics of Emma Goldman than the ponderous, philosophical musings of Arendt. Readers will appreciate her energy and urgency as she warns we are living through a dangerous “fascist shift” brought about by the Bush administration. Her chapters outline the “Ten Steps to Fascism” citing historical corollaries (as well as the pigs in Orwell’s Animal Farm), with headings like “Invoke an External and Internal Threat,” “Establish Secret Prisons,” and “Target Key Individuals.” In other words, fascism can exist without dictatorship. Her book’s publication through a small press in Vermont that is committed to “the politics and practice of sustainable living” rather than through a large trade house is itself a political act. Highly recommended for all collections.”
—Theresa Kintz, Wilkes Univ., Wilkes-Barre, PA

Also reading – Vampires of Hollywood by Adrienne Barbeau and Michael Scott. Loved Adrienne as a teenager and almost all Irish writers and Vampires so fluff it is. My huge pile of summer reading is still collecting dust in the corner as I have mostly watched old movies on TCM and endless the SciFi channel – anything Star Trek and Dr. Who and the BBC America for Dr. Who Torchwood and Grahm Norton. (http://www.bbc.co.uk/grahamnortonshow/) Indeed I am ready for America to go back to the Brits. We Cherokees always sided with the English in the past and mabey it’s time for them to come back.

Oh look Naomi Wolf has a video on you tube

Do you hear the drumming?

Leave a Reply

